Light Novel review: Seraph of the End: Guren Ichinose: Catastrophe at Sixteen omnibus volume 1

Introduction

The English version of the light novels was in omnibus form, which is two books in one. I have been reading the Seraph of the End mangas since the summer, so I was really excited when I heard about the light novel getting an English release. Anyways, if you’re reading this, I really hope you already read the book and aren’t just trying to see if it’s worth it (because spoilers). If you’re the latter, then you can scroll down to see my likes and dislikes.

 

***Spoilers ahead***

Book 1

I was really excited when reading book one. I mean, I get to hear the story behind all my favorite characters (Mito is my favoritest) and learn more about the apocalypse. And I did learn a ton. Somehow the Seraph of the End manga makes so much more sense. And I had no idea the Hiragi family had so much power even before the apocalypse. (They say the end of the world, but the world keeps going on, as seen in the manga). It was really hard to read while Guren was getting bullied, especially that time his follower Sayuri got beat to a pulp and he still had to hide his real power. Although it can’t be helped, I couldn’t really feel too worried for the characters, since I knew they were fine in the manga. And at the end of the book, I was still convinced that Mahiru wasn’t that crazy.

 

Book 2

I could talk about that creepy chimera, or how Mahiru is actually really crazy (but justified), or kid Sayuri, or how Guren cut off his arm, or wonder about Ferid’s age, but what I really want to talk about it kid Shinoa. I mean, she’s so adorable I can’t take it. Although it wasn’t fun to read Guren getting captured by Kureto, tortured, and forced to be his underling, I thought it was nice that Guren could stop hiding his true strength. People stopped bullying him and his followers, and he got a cool new sword (although I miss Kujakumaru). I wonder if it was because he became Kureto’s underling, that he was in such a high position in the Seraph of the End mangas. Anyways, it was good and I can’t wait until the next volume.

 

Likes: Learning about the stories of all the characters from the original manga, learning about the world before the apocalypse, great writing and art, and cameo appearances

Dislikes: That reading the Seraph of the End manga basically spoils the light novel, that chimera, and minor spelling/grammar errors

 

I have no money, so I have to be cheap and use the library. But if you have money, you should support the author and/or translator. Here’s some shopping links for this volume:

Amazon link

Barnes & Noble link

One thought on “Light Novel review: Seraph of the End: Guren Ichinose: Catastrophe at Sixteen omnibus volume 1

Leave a Reply

